Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-19 - 7:05 p.m.

Today was ... eh. I finished my work early and kind of sat around until the clock ticked down. Then I went and got my parents an anniversary gift. Vero had to go to Dallas for business so I'm on my own (+ dog) tonight. She left directly from work after we had had lunch together (something I had really missed about not working with her anymore) and she'll return tomorrow night. It sucks.

Maile was discussing what books she should read from the literary canon --- don't discount Jane Austin! She is awesome. Very sardonic. I also recommend John Steinbeck. I used to LOVE his novels. Those two authors are good for entertaining reading. You don't feel like you are doing your duty to Western civilization by reading them.

Right now I am reading a kids' book called We Shall Not Be Moved: The Women's Factory Strike of 1909 by Joan Dash. It's really good. Anyone who is anti-union should investigate history and discover what working conditions were like during the Industrial Revolution, before organized labor brought us such niceties as weekends, lunch breaks, safety regulations, etc.

Today the women in my group paid me a complement --- so I guess I have to like them a little bit more. They told me that I am their "bullshit detector." That's such a nice thing for them to say!

A frind of mine is going through the end of a five year relationship. I can't even imagine what that feels like. I have been with Verona for five years and four months ... I don't know what I'd do if something happened to this relationship. I honestly think I would just quit. I have built so much of my life around the relationship, around her, around us, that I would be in serious trouble if she left me. I guess that isn't healthy ... but on the other hand, what am I supposed to do? Ever since I first met her, I felt like she was the person that I had travelled through all the crap in my life to get to. That all of the bad things that had happened to me, that I had done to myself, were necessary in order to get me to this point. It's weird for an atheist, or at least an agnostic, to speak in terms of destiny --- but that's almost what it feels like. Put it another way. The electricity that animates the two of us must've come from the same source. It's like that book, The Years of Rice and Salt; we have always been together and always will.

Opal

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!