Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-04-12 - 7:42 p.m.

This week I learned quite a bit about some of my co-workers. Two people I formerly had a lot of respect for referred to my new student as "it" in my presence, and a few more started to say ugly things about her. In every case, I or a member of the team shut them down, but it really disappoints me that people I thought were open minded are so judgemental. I certainly won't be coming out to anyone there because I obviously can't trust them! I gave the principal and the counselor info from PFLAG (since both of them had made slighting remarks about her as well) this morning and from both of them got the I-see-you're-making-waves-again look.

The team met her formally today - yeah, she's been in trouble. But you know what? A lot of our students have. I told her I expect her to communicate with me if she has any problems and she gave me a big grin, so I hope she'll be OK. The thing is, there are so many ways that a teacher can set a kid up to get into trouble. If she is volatile, a teacher who has a negative view of her can ignore the signs of trouble and just let her blow. We'll see.

By the way, I hope it doesn't sound like everyone is out to get her. There are plenty of folks at school who don't give a damn what she looks like and will treat her with the utmost fairness. They are also the ones who are more "non traditional" (artists, musicians, poets/writers, actors, etc.). Go figure, right?

Opal

(I'm supposed to be packing boxes.)

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!