Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-02-27 - 7:57 p.m.

I have not been adding entries like I had been. Life has been so hectic and I honestly haven't had much leisure for self-reflection. The move is exactly one month away and, in addition, I picked up some extra projects at school (I'm writing the master schedule for next year and trying to save our reading program).

Last weekend Verona and I went to Corpus Christi and Padre Island. It was so nice. We walked on the beach, had a picnic, walked out on the piers, waded in the 59 degree water, watched people fish, etc. We saw two mostly naked men - one sunbathing in a thong and one really hairy Grizzly Adams lookin' man with a huge stomach wearing a bathing suit so tiny we thought he was naked. We also saw some fisherfolk who were dressed in paramilitary type outfits and a bunch of older people who were "camping out" on the beach in motorhomes, etc.

We also revisited a place from our personal past. Several years ago (before we were anything but acquaintances --- though I was already scheming and plotting) we went on a beach clean up field trip to Padre with a bunch of kids. I ended up all soaking wet and she, of course, was all comfy with a change of clothes, a sweatshirt, and a jacket (because she plans ahead and I don't - I'm a bit feckless that way). Anyway, I was standing on the boardwalk shivering and she took pity and lent me her extra shirt and jacket. I wore them (happy!) and then returned them several days later washed (of course) and ironed. She said the fact that I even ironed them made her wonder. It was funny to be in that same spot years later and think back to a time when we were not together.

Well, I know this is short, but I have some things to prep for tomorrow and I want to read a few more chapters of Valley of the Dolls (it's truly funny in a 60s kinda way).

Opal

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!