Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-01-20 - 9:18 p.m.

Hung out with an old friend today. We go back to high school. She has been through some really shitty times (mostly due to her drug use and alcohol abuse) and come out on top ... finally. I'm so happy to see her getting her life together and being herself again. We mostly talked. One thing we discussed was how people have reacted to the fact that she is now more interested in guys than in women. She has been dating women since she was 15 years old and she was really involved in the gay/lesbian "community" here for a long time. Anyway, gay folks can be really hard on those who are not 100% gay (I found that out myself when I dated a couple of guys in college --- and one of them was gay, too, which made our crime even worse). I guess there is no room in beleagured (sp) communities for folks who aren't 100%. Anyway, she has lost all her drinking buddies, her drug buddies, and all her queer friends (except me!). She's doing another presentation for MADD this week. I don't know how she does it, but she's strong. She showed me the photos of the wreck and I honestly don't know how she survived. Her passenger didn't. Pretty ghastly. In a weird way, she's more like she was when she was 15 than she is like the person I knew when she was in her 20s. It's as if she has restarted the life she should've had. We talked about her survival and she said she believes she lived through it for a reason and that she has to make her life mean something. I guess the experience gave her a kind of clarity. Anyway, it was nice to spend time with her tonight.

Opal

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!