Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-18 - 5:27 p.m.

Well, school starts tomorrow. I can't say that I've, strictly speaking, ENJOYED this summer. But it was time that needed to pass, there were things that needed to be done, and, even though I had no huge accomplishments, it was an important time.

This year we have new administrators, lots of new teachers, new procedures, etc. It feels very ... unsettled. But that's good. I think we had beome complacent - and I know we got lazy and sloppy. I just hope that this new principal is ... well, cool is a stupid word to apply to a principal, but I hope he isn't a problem. He's very Baptist and very (ex)military and those are two communities that historically haven't been very accepting of gay folk. But how can you look at a 13 or 14 year old kid (with straight parents) who identifies as gay or lesbian and see sexual orientation as anything but natural? How can it be a "perversion" people pick up in big cities or something learned from others?

We'll see.

Opal

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!