Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-10-10 - 7:36 a.m.

We hung out with my sister yesterday - it was pretty good. Her life and interests are so different from mine ... but then again, she looked at my bookshelf and remarked, "We have a lot of the same books." She's heavily involved in the whole Renaissance Fair(e) thing - she invited Vero and me to go but we demurred. I went once, in college, and Vero has no desire to go. But to my sister, it's I suppose like a reunion of friends. In school she was into D&D - she's always liked that kind of stuff. I played D&D once --- I named my character Coca-Cola and was promptly killed off by my fellow players.

Vero is still asleep so I am trying to be quiet. I woke up at 5 with a renewed headache and just decided to get up. I've been reading a book I got at Half Price Books last night about WWII. Howard Zinn has an essay about how WWII wasn't really a just war - I've always thought it was and I'm not sure I accept his analysis. I mean, he's probably right that it was a war about preserving capital, not about defeating facism, but the greater good was served. If there can be such a thing as a just war ... I don't know. Anyway, I got three WWII books last night - British women spies, ordinary life during the Blitz, and one on codebreaking.

Paulson is coming over today. We're working on developing an inservice that we want to present here in SA. I have a few ideas and so does he, so we're going to brainstorm.

Vero's alarm!!!

Opal

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!