Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-10-29 - 4:35 p.m.

I am very proud of our jack OH! lantern. Verona, Paulson, and I made him on Sunday. Actually, I guess I can't really assign a gender to an object which doesn't even have a real face.

I have been reading my groups and am totally disgusted and turned off by the ugly, condescending tone which some of the people there like to use on others. It makes me not only uninterested in joining the conversation, but also uninterested in even continuing to read. I have to wonder if these people would treat each other quite so shittily if they were face to face. And the topic of conversation that elicited such rude and dismissive comments? Whether contemporary literature is any good or not. Honestly. Anyone who feels impelled to try to make someone else feel stupid and awful over whether modern lit is good or not (which is, after all, merely a matter of opinion) is too pathetic. These are, by the way, the same people who assert that morality is relative and thus any position is equally defensible. Apparently opinions on the state of our literature are not allowed to be similarly relative.

And the reason I'm posting this here instead of jumping into the fray? Because I have no interest in arguing with people who don't respect me.

Opal

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!